Calculating Child Support in Nevada
In a child custody matter, or a divorce where there are children, the court requires each parent to provide adequate financial means to care for the children until they reach the age of 18. This means the court will look for child support to be paid by a parent or justification why child support should not be paid.
In Nevada, matters involving child support are governed by Child Support Laws NRS 125B. Under these laws there are set formulas to calculate child support. Child support is one area where the law that is black and white and rarely subjective.
Below is a child support calculator which quickly and easily accounts for the percentages, formulas and caps. The next few paragraphs is an explanation of these percentages and formulas.
To calculate child support you need to know three things; the custody arrangement, the number of children, and gross monthly income of each parent.
- Physical Custody Arrangement — There are two types of physical custody; primary and joint. Joint custody means the children reside with each parent roughly 50% of the time. Any other arrangement, whether written in an order or not, where one parent has more then 60% of the time is considered primary custody. In calculating child support for a joint custody situation there will be an offset of each parents’ income. In calculating support for a primary custody situation the “non-primary” parent will pay child support to the other “custodial” parent.
- Number of Children – The number of children you have will determine the percentage of income used in the formula. See the chart below for percentage amounts.
- Gross Monthly Income — Gross income is before taxes. Gross income includes your salary, overtime, self-employment income. If one of the parents is unemployed or “under employed” the court may impute a gross income to calculate child support. If one of the parents owns a business and doesn’t receive a regular paycheck, the gross income will be yearly revenues minus reasonable business expenses.
Making Child Support Calculations
In Primary Custody situations, the “non-primary” parent is required to pay the custodial parent a specified percentage of income based on the formula. Take the gross monthly income of the “non-primary parent” and multiply this amount by the appropriate percentage. The percentage is based on the number of children (see chart). The final amount is the monthly child support amount.
There is a monthly maximum based on monthly income. This means the monthly child support amount cannot be more than certain amounts. The “cap” is based on monthly gross income (see chart). If the monthly child support calculation is greater than this maximum, then the amount will be reduced to the maximum.
In Joint Custody arrangements, each parent’s gross monthly income is multiplied by the percentage. The amounts are subtracted from each other. The parent with the higher income pays the remaining amount. For instance, if one parent is obligated to pay $600 per month using the custody calculation and the other parent is obligated to pay $250, then the parent with the greater income would subtract $250 from their monthly obligation of $600 and submit a payment for $350 each month. This is referred to a the Wright vs. Osburn offset.
There are exceptions to the standard calculations just explained. For example, special needs children may require great financial support. These calculations may be modified by the judge for reimbursement of medical, health insurance premiums and other necessary expenses. For more detailed information review our Child Support A to Z article.
Child Support Percentages Chart
One Child ……..18%
Two Children …25%
An additional 2% for each child thereafter
Monthly Maximum by Income Range Chart
$0 to $4,235 …………………………..$681
$4,235 to $6,351………………………$749
$6,351 to $8,467………………………$820
$8,467 to $10,585…………………….$886
$10,585 to $12,701……………………$955
$12,701 to $14,816……………………$1,022
$14,816 to No Limit………………….$1,092
Click here for the Child Support Calculator.